Innovative Learning

I think I’ve been an innovative learner this semester. One of the major things I did as far as being innovative was my independent learning project. I’m really glad that I spent time learning about what to do and what not to do in the classroom. I also spent a lot of time on some of the daily creates trying to use different tools and methods to complete them.

Innovation can take all forms in learning. That’s what is so great about it. Being an innovative learner and teacher means that you never stop finding new and better ways to do things. As George Couros says in his blog: “I question thinking, challenge ideas, and do not accept “this is the way we have always done it” as an acceptable answer for our students or myself.” Accepting that there is one tried and true method to do something is not only detrimental to your career, but also for your students. You may have learned how to do something one way while you were going through school, but things change. Innovations are made, new technology comes out, and students are different from when you go through school. With technology at our fingertips, new information is constantly being taken in. It happens every time we open a news article or do a Google search on a question we had. As the blog The Steep Unlearning Curve says, “We need to unlearn the idea that learning itself is an event. In this day and age, it is a continual process.” Students no longer learn just in school, they learn all the time. We owe it to our future students to change the way we teach so we can get through to them and adjust to their learning styles. I can still improve on this area because there is no way to not continue improving. I know that I will have to always work on trying to integrate new teaching methods into the art classroom. It’s going to be difficult since art isn’t so much academic as it is a physical class, but it’s possible.

Photo CC: elycefelize

Leave a Reply

