Digital Storytelling

https://s3.amazonaws.com/embed.animoto.com/play.html?w=swf/production/vp1&e=1480311152&f=HHsJxceuOtNxzfStfQcE1g&d=0&m=a&r=360p&volume=100&start_res=360p&i=m&asset_domain=s3-p.animoto.com&animoto_domain=animoto.com&options=autostart

 

For my digital story, I used Animoto. It was pretty easy to use. I made each slide up in Google Slides, saved as a jpeg, and uploaded them into Animoto. It’s pretty user friendly, but the downside is that you have to have a subscription for anything longer than thirty seconds. However, that seemed to be the norm for most of the video making sites and Chrome add ons that I looked at. They’d only allow you so much before you’d have to buy a subscription.

It was extremely difficult to think of a metaphor for this project, so I turned to Google for help. I had to try a couple different searches because most of what was popping up was how to teach metaphors instead of metaphors related to learning or teaching. I finally ended up on a page that had the quote I used: “Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.” –Pablo Picasso. While this quote doesn’t seem to be in any way related to learning or teaching styles, it really spoke to me so I just ran with it.

After I found my quote/metaphor, I got onto Animoto and found my theme. I found it a lot easier to write after I found the visual theme I was going to use. With this theme, I decided against using any images at all. I wanted a clean look and images would have distracted from what I was going for. Plain, simple text was all that was needed. I did, however, wait until after I had made all my text slides to choose the music. I did this for two reasons. One: I needed to see how many slides I ended up with. Since Animoto has an option to automatically adjust slide time to the length of the music, I needed to wait to see if I needed a longer or shorter song. Two: I needed a song that fit the mood of what I wrote and what I was trying to get across. I didn’t want the music to dictate what I wrote. I wanted what I wrote to dictate what music I chose. Another thing I liked about Animoto was the wide variety of song choices and the menus to help narrow down music. It made finding the right song really easy.

Leave a Reply

