Podcasts and digital storytelling

I hate podcasts. There, I said it. I don’t like listening to podcasts, audiobooks, or anything like that. I tried for this week’s module and I just can’t do it. I’m a very visual person, so if I’m going to read a book, then I need to physically read it. I can’t just listen to it. Same goes with podcasts. If I’m going to listen to someone talk, I’d rather do it in person where I can interact with them. I have a really hard time concentrating on what is being said. I can see how a lot of people like them, but I can’t get into them. If I’m doing something, I prefer to listen to music. If I’m working on homework, like right now, I prefer to listen to film scores and music like that because there aren’t any words to try to focus on. It helps block out distractions and makes it much easier to work.

Podcasts could be useful in the classroom to keep up on current events or as another way to learn about topics. Maybe even as something to turn on to listen to while working on a project. Like this blog mentioned, students can really get into them. An issue with podcasts is that there are a lot of them that have personal opinions in it. Take political podcasts for example. They lean heavily one way or another towards a political party/viewpoint and can sometimes leave listeners misinformed. Podcasts could be used by having students do research projects and create podcasts on them or do their own news podcasts. They could keep up with current events and do a podcast each week in a social studies class. Podcasts have their place, but I just can’t get into it and I don’t see using it in my classroom.

What I can get into is digital storytelling. As an art education major, I can see this being helpful in a classroom. A great way I could see this being used is partnering up with an english class and having the english class write a short story and having the art class illustrate it and then putting it in a digital story format.

Photo CC: Aristocrat

6 thoughts on “Podcasts and digital storytelling

  1. I love your honesty. I’m partial to podcasts and audio books, but can totally get that they aren’t for everyone. Where you get information needs to suit the person receiving information. I think this is what could make them problematic in the classroom. I enjoyed the digital storytelling too. I loved the authenticity found in the ones I watched. I think they would be a fantastic idea to partner with an English class to create a story. I’m on the English education side of this degree and would love this kind of cross-class project. Great idea.

    Like

    1. Thanks! My boyfriend has been trying to get me to listen to some podcasts for a while and I just can’t concentrate on them. I think it would be great to have more partnerships between classrooms. This would encourage more interaction with students and would link subjects together.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Some audiobooks and podcasts I love, some I don’t. For me it depends solely on the narrator and factors that surround the story script, such as little bits of music. Some things won’t be for everybody but it is great that you can be honest about it. Digital storytelling would be harder for me to implement, but that is the route that you think is most beneficial, so it is good that students will be exposed to a variety of learning devices to expand their cognitive and creative abilities. Good post.

    Like

  3. I appreciate your honesty about podcasts! I personally think reading is so important, and I wouldn’t want to substitute podcasts for actually reading books. You have some great ideas about how to use podcasts in the classroom. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much! I think it’s also important for people to be comfortable speaking out about something if they don’t like it. From the blogs I read, I feel like I was pretty much alone in the fact that I didn’t like them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

