Tech Use Log

This week I chose to keep track of my technology use using the attention log. This log was a great way of tracking my technology usage, but it pretty much told me what I already knew. I use technology a lot. In fact, I’m using it a little more than I should.

I did notice a trend with my technology use. Most of my daily use is actually working on homework. I have my laptop with me in all of my classes to take notes and do research during class. In one of them I use my laptop to bring up the powerpoint so I can actually see everything on the screen as well as taking notes. After class, I spend a lot of my time working on homework. If I’m not in the ceramics lab working, I’m either in the graphic design lab working on advertisements for things or I am working on homework for my other classes. When I feel like I’ve done enough homework for the day, I hop on to social media and dink around for a bit and I might watch Netflix until it’s time to go to bed.

Needless to say, I’m connected most of the time. This was even with spending part of the week still off of Facebook from last week’s independent study project. However, I don’t know how I can avoid spending as much time online as I do. I don’t spend a whole lot of my time on social media, so I can’t see cutting that down at all. I also can’t cut down my online time in regards to homework, so I guess I’m stuck with what I’m at until I graduate.

Photo CC: Scott Schopieray

6 thoughts on “Tech Use Log

  1. It is definitely hard to cut back on technology when so much of our homework and studying revolves around it! I feel the same way about not being able to cut back until I graduate. Good post!

    Like

    1. Thanks! It’s been a lot worse for me this semester since I only have one studio art class and the rest require the use of computers. In the past I’ve had a lot more studio classes and I would rarely need a computer.

      Like

  2. I found that 95 percent of my used of the internet if for homework tasks. I don’t like being online this much and am in the same boat as you. I am stuck here until I can graduate and cut back.

    Like

  3. I thought that you using the attention log to see how you are doing when using technology was a great idea. I think that it’s crazy how much we all use technology. I know that I when I use my laptop it’s mainly to work on homework or even to write an email to a professor.

    Like

    1. It was nice to have something to keep track of what I was doing, but it ended up being almost all homework. I realized that I hardly get the downtime for social media to begin with so there wasn’t a whole lot of log time for that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

